Second win in a row for Pogacar

Mathieu WARNIER, Media365, published Saturday, October 08, 2022 at 4:51 PM.

In the final, Tadej Pogacar attacked and defeated Enric Mas in a sprint to win the Tour of Lombardy for the second time in a row.

Tadej Pogacar remains master in Lombardy! Already a winner in the streets of Como last year, the Slovenian was the big favorite and turned out to be the strongest over the 253 kilometers of the last Monument of the cycling season. Departing from Bergamo, the adventurers quickly move forward. If Elie Gesbert was the first to go on the attack, it was a 100% Italian trio made up of Cristian Scaroni, Simone Ravanelli and Alex Tolio who managed to stay ahead of a pack that was initially little inclined to unleash a breakaway. Still, a brave group of eight including Kenny Elissonde and Alessandro de Marchi won their case and made the connection with 224 kilometers to go. In the aftermath, Aurélien Paret Peintre took off against the weather, but managed to finish a ten-rider breakaway. Under the leadership of the Movistar team in particular, the peloton very quickly left just over five minutes to this break. However, we soon had the feeling that the front ten would not have full freedom of movement. In fact, the Movistar and Jumbo-Visma teams did what it took to reduce the leading group’s lead to less than four minutes.

The Jumbo-Visma have cleaned up

Just over 150 kilometers from the goal, Mikel Nieve saw the last race of his pro career come to an end after a crash that also killed Lorenzo Fortunato. Domenico Pozzovivo later suffered the same fate, complaining of an arm after going ashore. Approaching the final 100 kilometers, the peloton began to grind to a halt, leaving behind a leading group that began to lose limbs. But as the rise of Madonna del Ghisallo approached, the race changed in size and ambitions began to unfold. Sam Oomen and Chris Harper greatly increased the peloton pace for the Jumbo-Visma team. An acceleration that very quickly put an end to the hopes of the leading group, who were absorbed at 71 kilometers from the target. The climb then saw João Almeida ramp up the pace, notably Matej Mohoric, winner of Milan-Sanremo at the start of the season, and Julian Alaphilippe in trouble. This did not stop the Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl team from contributing to the joint effort with Louis Vervaeke and Andrea Bagioli. Marc Hirschi took over as the final 30 kilometers approached, but while Vincenzo Nibali cut his efforts before the end of the last race of his career, the Swiss mainly prepared the ground for his leader Tadej Pogacar.

Pogacar confirmed he was the strongest

The Slovenian waited for Civiglio’s first ascent to launch a sharp attack that only Enric Mas and then, in a second step, Mikel Landa could follow. A trio that somehow worked together to get a good distance from their pursuers, including Sergio Higuita, Carlos Rodriguez, Rudy Molard and Romain Bardet. Aware that a sprint finish with the double Tour de France winner would not do his business, Enric Mas tried to isolate himself twice on Civiglio’s second climb, but without success. Mikel Landa, meanwhile, finally gave in and settled for third. The explanation between the two front runners awaited the last straight. Enric Mas started the sprint at 150 meters from the finish but soon reached his limit. Tadej Pogacar then put in a little more power to make the difference and won the Tour of Lombardy for the second time in a row, the third Monument in his career. Mikel Landa completes the podium for Sergio Higuita and Carlos Rodriguez. For his last dance, Alejandro Valverde took a nice sixth place when Rudy Molard and Romain Bardet finished eighth and ninth respectively, ahead of Adam Yates. Tadej Pogacar therefore closes the season very well and already gives an appointment for 2023.

Final standings – Bergamo-Como (253km) – Saturday, October 8, 2022
1- Tadej Pogacar (SLO/UAE Team Emirates) in 6h21’22”
2- Enric Mas (ESP/Movistar) mt
3- Mikel Landa (ESP/Bahrain victorious) at 10”
4- Sergio Higuita (COL / Bora-Hansgrohe) at 52”
5- Carlos Rodriguez (ESP / Ineos Grenadiers) at 52”
6- Alejandro Valverde (ESP/Movistar) at 1’24”
7- Bauke Mollema (PBS/Trek-Segafredo) at 1’24”
8- Rudy Molard (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) at 1’24”
9- Romain Bardet (FRA/DSM at 1’24”
10- Adam Yates (GBR / Ineos Grenadiers) at 1’26”